• Audi supports two teams in the Eifel and in the Ardennes
  • Seven former 24-hour race winners on grid in Audi R8 LMS 
  • Audi Sport Team WRT and Audi Sport Team Phoenix as race teams
The 24-hour races at the Nürburgring (May 28-29) in Germany and at Spa in Belgium (July 30-July 31) are the season’s pinnacle events in European GT3 racing. Audi has won both of these iconic races an amazing three times and is supporting two teams this year that will be competing with powerful driver squads.
Three of last year’s winners from Audi will be on the grid in the Eifel again. Christopher Mies (D), DTM driver Nico Müller (CH) and Laurens Vanthoor (B) are competing for Audi Sport Team WRT again. This driver lineup is completed by Pierre Kaffer (D), who has previously mounted the podium in his home race three times. In Audi Sport Team Phoenix, four former winners of the endurance race are set on continuing their previous success in the Eifel. The Germans Christopher Haase, René Rast, Frank Stippler and Markus Winkelhock will be taking the wheel of the Audi R8 LMS fielded by Ernst Moser’s squad. For the first time, the television channel RTL Nitro will be covering the race for 25 hours, the longest live television broadcast to date. In addition, the parent channel, RTL, will be joining the broadcast from the Grand Prix in Monaco.

Two months later, at Spa, Mies is going to share the GT3 race car in Audi Sport Team Phoenix with Stippler and Winkelhock, two former winners. At its home round, Audi Sport Team WRT will be relying on the former winners Rast and Vanthoor, who are going to race together with Müller. “At both rounds, we’ll be meeting with strong competitors and feel that we’re well set with these teams and drivers,” says Romolo Liebchen, Head of Audi Sport customer racing.